Department of Mechanical Engineering


The Department of Mechanical Engineering was established in the year 1958 and the first batch of B.E. graduates moved out of the portals of NIE in the year 1963. The department is well known for highly qualified and dedicated faculty and technical staff. Thanks to the academic autonomy, the engineering curriculum has been designed to provide the students broad knowledge in the fundamentals of Mechanical Engineering and hands-on experience in the many centres of excellence established in collaboration with leading industries.

The Department of Mechanical Engineering presently runs three M.Tech programmes under the autonomous scheme, namely, Industrial Automation & Robotics, Machine Design and Nanotechnology. The department is recognized as ‘Research Centre’ by VTU and till date 12 candidates have acquired Ph.D degree from the department. Presently, 34 students have registered for Ph.D and 5 students for MSc Engg (by Research) under VTU.

The highly qualified faculty is actively engaged in research and consultancy works in the areas of Composite Materials, Automation Technologies, Nanotechnology and Energy Systems Engineering. Thanks to their initiative and efforts, the department has secured funding from reputed funding agencies such as the Department of Science & Technology (DST), TEQIP, UGC, AICTE, KCTU, etc., which has resulted in the establishment of several centres of excellence. Some of the notable ones are the Centre for Materials Research (CMR), Centre for Renewable Energy and Sustainable Technologies (CREST), Centre for Nanotechnology (CNT), Centre for Automation Technologies (CAT), CNC Training Centre, Flexible Manufacturing Systems(FMS), DST lab and Centre for Robotics and Control. etc.

We take pride in strong collaboration with industries. The NIE-Eicher Centre for Automotive Technology (NECAT) is a testimony to the highly successful partnership between NIE and Volvo Eicher Commercial Vehicles Ltd. (VECVL). NECAT has state-of-the-art training facility and has been able to attract students and trainees from all over the country as well as from abroad. In recent times, the faculty of the department took the initiative to forge collaborative agreement between NIE and major Automation companies to establish the Centre for Automation Technologies. As a result, the major Automation companies comprising Bosch Rexroth, Siemens, Felsomat, Christiani Sharpline, Festo India Ltd., Schunk India Ltd, Pepperl+Fuchs India Ltd, Mitsuibishi India Ltd, and Phoenix contact Gmbh are working with NIE to establish state-of-the-art training and research centre in Automation Technologies. Our Collaboration with Carl-Zeiss India Pvt Ltd, which is a German MNC subsidiary, is to focus on bringing successful opportunities that lead to education, training, research and consultancy in the area of industrial metrology in general and co-ordinate metrology in particular.

We have also been successful in forging links with reputed foreign universities such as McMaster University in Canada, Oel Werme Institute affiliated to the prestigious Aachen University in Germany, and the University of Kassel in Germany, University of Wisconsin, Madison. Our collaboration with University of Wisconsin, Madison has resulted in setting up of Renewable Energy integrated with Distributed energy system-Microgrid”.These associations have resulted in collaborative research, faculty exchange and student exchange programmes. Dr.Giri Venkataramanan, Professor, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA, was on a sabbatical visit to NIE and taught a course on ‘Solar Energy & Micro Hydel Systems’ to the students of Mechanical Engineering.

Graduate attributes
Programme Educational Objectives
Programme Outcomes
Programme Specific Outcomes